how the stars fell from their place

You are still in the skies, with kisses to spare.  I feel your hand around mine when I am alone, reassuring as it once was.  The warmth isn’t gone; it just lives in my mind now.  My love for you is the deepest ocean and the brightest star.  It was the truest thing that I have ever discovered, and the measuring stick for all that comes after.  I still miss you, and I don’t expect that I will ever stop.  You were my perfect jigsaw piece; my immaculate dream.  When I held you, I never wanted to let go.  Minutes were years.  Hours became euphoria.  And your taste—that beautiful taste—brought life into dead eyes.  Sharing the good and the bad, pushing forward through the worst times, we clung to hope like the last piece of a sinking ship.  We floated amidst the wreckage, content to have each other.  Ours was the eye of the storm, a sanctuary when the world was at war.

I wish I could take back those times I looked past you, only wanting to dance in chemical arms.  You forgave me more times than I deserved.  And chipped though we were, our flaws  fit perfectly together.  To feel complete because you made me so was more than I ever thought I would experience.  I never saw your little shortcomings because they simply didn’t matter.  All I knew was that I felt whole with you.

The good was very good and the bad was so very bad.  Still, we always made it out alive.  I wasn’t expecting it to end so suddenly.  I thought we were invincible.  But death has no eyes, and it took you blindly.  For surely if it could have seen your beauty it would have left you here, my angel.  The hardest part to accept is why it chose you, and left me untouched.  You had a good heart, and mine had already turned to ash.  You saw beauty and hope in the world, while I saw only death and deceit.  I mourn you still, though years have brought me further from that day.

I dance with your memory now.  I sleep with it and hold it in my hand.  You are everything beautiful and everything abstract.  These things carry you on and keep you close to my heart.  I cherish our last touch.  And until we meet again, you remain safe in my dreams.

One thought on “how the stars fell from their place

  1. I was really touched with this post. Through some deep words you wrote, I felt what you felt when you wrote this. Mix of happiness and sadness. Joyful and sorrow. You are a good writer. Keep it up

    -dess

Leave a comment